Past Dissertation Proposal Award Winners and Judges

2010 Academic Judges for the General Dissertation Proposal Award

  • Ray Fisman, Columbia University, Columbia Business School
  • Rachel Kowal, New York University, Leonard N. Stern School of Business
  • Donald Schepers, Baruch College -- CUNY, Zicklin School of Business
  • Larry Zicklin, New York University, Leonard N. Stern School of Business


2010 Judges for the Shared Capitalism Dissertation Proposal Award

  • Joseph Blasi, Rutgers University
  • Richard Freeman, Harvard University
  • Takao Kato, Colgate University
  • Corey Rosen, Executive Director, The National Center for Employee Ownership
  • Maureen Scully, University of Massachusetts Boston


Award Winners





Georgia Institute of Technology College of Management

"The Interaction of Businesss with the Environment: The Environmental Implications of Operations Strategies, New Product Development and Supply Chain Strategies"


KAREN BERNHARDT-WALTHER, 2010 Winner, Shared Capitalism Through Employee Ownership Award

University of Chicago Booth School of Business

"Essays in Organizational Economics"


LITE NARTEY, 2010 Winner

University of Pennsylvania The Wharton School

"External Stakeholder Engagement: Transforming Corporate Social Responsibility from Principled Rhetoric to Theoretically Grounded Practice"


NATASCHA VAN DER ZWAN, 2010 Winner, Shared Capitalism Through Employee Ownership Award

The New School for Social Research

"Organized Labor and Financial Capitalism: Negotiating Shareholder Value in the United States and Germany"



DAPHNE BERRY, 2009 Winner, Shared Capitalism Through Employee Ownership Award

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

"In What Ways Does Organizational Form Influence 'Direct Care' Quality of Care?"


ALISON KEMPER, 2009 Winner

University of Toronto Rotman School of Management

"Making Markets, Changing Organizations: How Firms and Activists Evaluate Institutional Change?"


EMILY STIEHL, 2009 Winner

University of Pittsburgh Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business

"Low-Wage Work: Examining the Unintended Consequences of Poverty "





University of California, Los Angeles Anderson School of Management

“The Adoption of Sustainable Operating Practices”


MENG ZHAO, 2008 Winner

University of Oxford Saïd Business School

“Varieties of Social Innovation: Exploring the Structure, Distribution and Evolution of Social Innovation Models in European Venture Philanthropy Fund Investments, 1998-2008” 



DROR ETZION, 2007 Winner

IESE Business School

“Metrics of Sustainability”



Yale University

“What Does Cleantech Create?”   



This award was first given in 2007. The Shared Capitalism Though Employee Ownership Dissertation Proposal Award was first given in 2009, co-sponsored by the Employee Ownership Foundation and the Foundation for Enterprise Development.


We are honored to recognize the achievements of the past winners, and to have them as a part of Center for Business Education's growing network of academics and business leaders.








The Aspen Institute Center for Business Education is part of the Aspen Institute Business and Society Program.
Search the Center for Business Education Web Resources