2010 Faculty Pioneer Awards

Judges and Methodology


Final Round Judges


As in years past, the 2010 Faculty Pioneers were nominated by their peers and selected from a pool of finalists by a panel of corporate judges who are chosen by Aspen CBE.  This year's corporate judges include:


  • Dan Bross, Senior Director of Corporate Citizenship, Microsoft Corporation
  • Deborah Holmes, Global Director of Corporate Responsibility, Ernst & Young
  • Lauren Iannarone, now Head of Sustainability - Global Retail Bank, Barclays and formerly Head of Downstream Policy and Stakeholder Relations, Shell
  • Mitch Jackson, Director of Environmental Affairs and Sustainability, FedEx
  • Valerie Smith, Vice President of Environmental Affairs, CitiGroup Inc.


Selection Process

The Center for Business Education team goes through a long and deliberate process to find and select Faculty Pioneers.  The process follows this course:



  • Aspen invites representatives from hundreds of MBA programs and NGOs to nominate a Faculty Pioneer.  The initial nomination consists of a brief form and the nominee's CV


  • Faculty nominations are received in early spring
  • Aspen CBE staff and faculty advisors thoroughly review the nominations and choose the finalists; approximately 10 finalists move on to the second round
  • Nominators are invited to submit additional materials in support of finalists.  These materials consist of a short biography and a formal letter of recommendation


  • Aspen CBE selects a panel of corporate judges to carefully review all of the finalists' nomination materials.  The judges meet and reach a consensus on the Faculty Pioneer Award winners based on the criteria laid out in the Award announcement
  • Winners and their respective school leadership are notified, and invited to an awards ceremony in New York City that takes place in the fall


The Aspen Institute Center for Business Education is part of the Aspen Institute Business and Society Program.
Search the Center for Business Education Web Resources